Life At The Nest

Life At The Nest

The Official Blog of SMCHS

Why I Came Back to The Nest: Ms. Kathryn Martin ’07

My return to the Eagle’s Nest was always imminent–unavoidable at best. I always knew I wanted to work at my alma mater. I always knew this was where I belonged. Upon my third and final interview with Principal Dunne, he looked at me and said, “Did you ever think you’d teach at your old high school?”

IMG_1630

“Yes,” I admitted. “This was no accident.”

I always knew I’d be a teacher. I always hoped I’d be an English teacher at SM. After college I spent three years working for a small tech company in San Luis Obispo where I was forced to reckon with the ‘real world’ outside of my Catholic school bubble. It became overwhelmingly clear to me that selling software was not my calling, and instead I should be teaching writing and literature.

I’d always known that was where I needed to be, but sometimes knowing something and doing it are different things entirely. It took me four years to get my master’s and my teaching credential.

During those four years I daydreamed of my new career.

I daydreamed of plaid skirts and Kairos Retreats.

13640771_10208476708128624_3575080398477390118_o

I daydreamed of Friday night football games and Mass days.

_09A6410

I daydreamed of 30 minute lunches (No, just kidding. Nobody daydreams of that) and attending dances in the gym.

IMG_0307

So, when I sat in Principal Dunne’s office last May, I didn’t laugh at the thought of being right back in my ‘old high school.’

st. margaret (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I smiled. Because I knew I was home.

Ms. Kathryn Martin ’07 – English Teacher

3 Comments

  • Shelagh Murphy Dufault

    September 9, 2016 at 12:10 pm → Reply

    Congratulations Kathryn!
    It takes gumption to follow your dream with such a passion that brings this dream to life.
    Your principal is wise to recognise this passion and promise will translate to dedication in the classroom.
    I remember my favorite teachers with such love and gratitude for inspiring me and guiding me to follow my dreams.
    Your students are as lucky to have you coming home to roost as you are in teaching them to find their wings.
    I am thrilled for all of you!
    And I wish you all the best in your new profession!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Why I Came Back to The Nest: Ms. Kathryn Martin ’07

Skip to toolbar